Practice Makes Perfect… or at least better than before

 

THIS JUST IN!!!

If you want to be good at something, do yourself a favor and don’t not do it for a month (unless you have a good excuse). Today I practiced yoga for the first time in about a month and it felt as foreign as it did when I first started.

It seems I’m still having trouble adapting to the humbleness yoga requires, especially if you are a beginner. When I first started yoga in January of this year I thought I would have an edge because of my dancing background. I was horrendously wrong. When it came to dancing I was what many people like to call a “natural”. I just got it. Because of this I safely assumed that anything requiring balance and flexibility would just come to me as though I had been doing all my life. I’m not sure if there are “natural” yogis, but I’ll just say that it was hard for me to admit I wasn’t one. I don’t like be bad at things. In fact, I’d rather not do something at all than try it and be bad. This makes me both an awesome and terrible competitor (depending on my mood, mostly).

But the thing about yoga, and the thing I have to keep reminding myself is that your body will do things when its good and ready to. What you are doing at that very moment, no matter how mangled of a pose you are holding, is exactly where you are supposed to be. All you can do is practice, push yourself and enjoy it when you fall out of half moon pose (which you probably will).

The sad truth I learned today was that since I’m not a natural yogi, if I don’t practice all the progress goes away. A month ago I was working on inversions and today my wrists were crying simply from downward dog.

So two things:

1. Don’t be lazy – you might end up having to redo some of the progress you made.

2. Be patient – progress does not happen over night

Discuss!

